Credential Engine Technical Site

Technical Advisory Group

The Technical Advisory Group (TAG) promotes collaboration across, and harmonization of, standardization initiatives that are developing data models, vocabularies, and schemas for credentials and competency frameworks, and related competency information such as criticality ratings and assessment data typically captured with a wide variety of systems.

The goal is to identify, document and openly share solutions that support comparability of credentials and competencies across industries/sectors, human resource systems, education, and government systems.

The Application Work Group (AWG) is a standing subgroup of the TAG and supports members who are using Credential Engine data to design and/or develop applications. Credential Engine will provide technical team support, and online tools (e.g., GitHub repository, Slack Channel, Google Docs) and host meetings to bring members together to foster support. Anyone interested in sharing technical challenges and solutions is welcome to join the Applications Work Group.

Developers

Developers are able to leverage the the Credential Registry API to build applications that can read or publish as much or as little information about credentials as they need to.

The Credential Engine project's developers are using Dublin Core Application Profiles process to create systems that communicate all virtually all aspects of credentials.

Credential Engine Account

Get started with Credential Engine today by:

  1. Create or Login to your Credential Engine account
  2. Get your organization approved to publish and/or consume
  3. Learn more about CTDL, the Registry, and the publishing and consuming APIs

Publishing Options

Credential Engine offers the following options for publishing to the Credential Registry:

  • Registry Assistant Publishing API
  • Manual Entry
  • Bulk Upload

For more information on setting up your account and getting started with any of the publishing methods, click here.

Search Options

Credential Engine offers a robust search API to enable developers to leverage the wealth of data contained in the registry, using the CTDL and CTDL-ASN schemas.

Credential Engine offers a way for non-technical participants to enable a credential search on their own website. The Credential Finder Widget can be customized to match your site's theme and your preferences for automatic filtering, so that the results it shows can be more closely tailored to your site's purposes.

Join Credential Engine

Visit the Credential Engine website to:

  1. Learn more about Credential Engine
  2. Subscribe to updates
  3. Become a participant or partner

Announcements

May 2020 Schema Releases are now Pending
Posted on 5/18/2020

The May 2020 release of CTDL, CTDL-ASN, and QData are now pending.

These changes mostly focus on the additions of Transfer Value Profile (as a set of unstable terms) and Completion Certificate as a new credential type.

Please use the Google Group thread to provide feedback.

Pathways Webinar Followup
Posted on 4/24/2020

Thanks to all who were able to participate with the Credential Transparency Description Language (CTDL) Pathways Minimum Data Policy for Publishing. See the archived webinar here. During the webinar we reviewed the following:

  • PowerPoint - Reviewing Pathway Terms, Proposed Policy and Publishing Plan
  • Credential Registry Minimum Data Policy Proposal for Pathway Terms - This document is for your review to provide feedback.on the proposed policy.
  • Credential Registry Minimum Data Policy Web Page - To view the “Pending” policy updates per the minimum data policy proposal for pathway terms, from the bottom of the screen, click on “Selected Sections” and select only: Pathway Set, Pathway, and Pathway Component then click on “Policy Status” only select Pending. Now you can scroll down and see the proposed policy updates to include the Pathway terms.

Please provide your feedback on the Credential Registry Minimum Data Policy Proposal for Pathway Terms using any of these options by Friday, May 15, 2020:

  • Review the proposed Credential Registry Minimum Data Policy updates to include Pathway terms.
  • Provide feedback via any of three ways:
April 2020 CTDL and CTDL-ASN Releases are now available
Posted on 4/24/2020

We have officially released the April 2020 releases for CTDL and CTDL-ASN. This update focuses primarily on enhancements for the Pathway-related terms in both schemas.

You can review the changes here:

Pathways Webinar
Posted on 4/22/2020

Credential Engine will be holding a webinar on Credential Engine Pathways Minimum Data on Friday, April 24th, and hope you are available to join us. This webinar will discuss the proposal for Pathways Minimum Required and Benchmark Data for the Credential Registry. We will be holding two sessions for your convenience, a morning and afternoon session. Below you will find an EventBrite Registration to register for the session that works best for you.

EventBrite Registration

  • Morning Session - April 24th at 11:00 am EST / 10:00 am CST / 9:00 am MT / 8:00 am PST
  • Afternoon Session - April 24th at 3:00 pm EST / 2:00 pm CST / 1:00 pm MT / 12:00 pm PST

Please let us know if you have any questions or if I can be of further assistance.

April 2020 CTDL and CTDL-ASN Releases are pending
Posted on 4/21/2020

The CTDL and CTDL-ASN schemas will be updated this month on Friday, April 24th. The changes are primarily focused on enhancing the implementation of Pathways and related data.

For details about these releases, please see below: